Skip to content

Coping with winter in Minnesota

January 18, 2011

Last Saturday a friend and I leaned back in our seats, sipped coffee and commented on the beautiful trees and flowers around us. Birds flitted overhead. We were “on vacation” in Minnesota in January. At an “outdoor cafe” inside Bachman’s greenhouse on Lyndale Avenue. Our vacation lasted three hours (we also toured the gift shop) and cost about five dollars (okay, to be honest, we also bought some souvenirs).

This is just one of my tricks for surviving winter in Minnesota.

Tonight I sipped tea while sitting in front of a crackling fire in my office. Well, the fire was a YouTube fire on my computer screen, but I could smell it. (Oh, my computer fan was overheating?)

One winter day when Son was young, we cranked up the heat, turned on a bright light, donned our summer clothes and had a picnic on the floor with his friends, complete with ham sandwiches and chips. His friends suggested sand would be a nice addition.

Another time young Son and two buddies put on their bathing suits and played in the big, new bathtub. (Son, I just verified, does not read this blog.)

Son, Hubby and I took a mini vacation last month to sit under palm trees and sip hot chocolate. This was $10 at Embassey Suites. Next time I’m going to take a book and stay a while. Last week I took a little vacation to Bali via video.

Next weekend I plan to try ice fishing for the first time at a city event. However, if it is too cold, I confess that I may sit in front of my fire and read a good book.

So, readers, how do you cope with winter?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeff Evans permalink
    January 19, 2011 1:19 am

    I tag along with Julie on her imaginative trips to the tropics!

  2. January 19, 2011 2:13 pm

    Since going outside makes my bones and muscles hurt, I stay inside and “hibernate” Yes, it would be better to bundle up and brave the cold and go for walks, but I’m a coward!

  3. MN in my Rearview Mirror permalink
    January 19, 2011 5:38 pm

    I had no idea about this cafe at Bachman’s. I totally need to go there! Thanks for the tip.

  4. Carolyn Boroughs permalink
    January 23, 2011 1:12 pm

    This winter, I have noticed what a difference taking Vitamin D has made for me. I feel much better than previous winters. I also highly recommend fireplaces!

  5. Pam permalink
    January 26, 2011 6:16 pm

    Yesterday, opened all the windows and the door, and turned on both fans in the apartment. 65 degrees outside, but it felt warmer. 🙂 I had plenty of MN and WI when I was a youngster. Also experienced winter in MT and WY. Spring is just around the corner! 🙂

  6. Greta permalink
    January 27, 2011 12:07 pm

    I confess I also hibernate. I spend most of my time in front of the pc if not working. To force myself out this winter I try to keep 9 bird feeders at least half full. For me to enjoy anything like you do is to travel 100 miles one way.

  7. Derek Field permalink
    February 8, 2011 2:41 pm

    I eat as much ice cream as I can! Although originally from England, I guess I am getting used to Minnesotan ways.

  8. Gwen permalink
    February 14, 2012 7:56 am

    I well remember my one and only cold Minnesota. My brother and I were doing a kidney transplant at the University of Minnesota. The University had done more diabetic involved transplants at that time than any other place in the nation. Coming from Louisiana to Minnesota, yes, it was cold like never known before, as far as snow and low fahrenheit. But hundreds of the warmest hearted Minnesotans, “extraly, doubled our living”. Thanks again, Minnesota.

Leave a Reply

