Skip to content

Edmund checks out the house… and his people

April 15, 2011

Day 4: March 22. When I let Edmund out of his crate this morning, he raced around happily and crazily, then got his leash off the coffee table and brought it to me. Sorry, Jeff is the walk guy today. (In fact, Jeff is THE walk guy, according to our contract.) He hadn’t eaten his kibbles, so I tossed them with the spring water from a can of tuna and he gobbled them up. I certainly have no intentions of having a spoiled dog, but we need to get his weight up, right?

He (Edmund, not Jeff) quit wearing his red plaid “pants” (diapers) today, having never wet them except when the tall two legged-critter was too slow taking the pants off the short four-legged critter when going outside.

He doesn’t bark unless there’s a reason. Well, he occasionally barks an order at the construction workers across the street, but they do need a supervisor… and every dog needs to chase off that criminal mail carrier daily. Absolutely. (Are we starting to rationalize some barking behavior here?)

Day 5: March 23. What’s the saying? Fish and guests start to smell after three days. Well, so do dogs. I sorta had that feeling that he was cute, but he could go home now so I could get my laundry done without a little critter grabbing a sock or trying to climb in the washer… and load the dishwasher without a dog doing the prerinse cycle… and open the refrigerator door without pushing away a persistent furry little body with my foot.  (He kept telling me the breeders let him in the refrigerator all the time, but then he refused to take a lie detector test.)

In the a.m. Jeff didn’t insist that Edmund go potty in the rain. So he (Edmund) whined pitifully from the living room and did number 2 here and there on the rug. He (Jeff) will learn.

I thought Ed would go nuts from his bay window when Jeff did the snow blowing, but he knew the bundled up critter blowing snow was Jeff and wasn’t fazed. Ho-hum. Winter in Minnesota from the bay window.

He’s learning to bring the dinosaur toy to me so I’ll toss it again. Or is he? Being an independent Cairn, he doesn’t come when called and doesn’t necessarily come to be petted when one offers. Once today, he suddenly hurled himself into my lap; I guess he was coming belatedly. Fortunately I was not drinking hot tea at the time.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Greta permalink
    April 15, 2011 11:52 pm

    Wondered how long the fun would last… Got to give it a good try though. I of course would find him enchanting. But I traveled and sometimes slept with an 85 lb white dog for a long while.

  2. Laury permalink
    April 16, 2011 2:48 am

    Julie, I’m starting to want a small dog and this makes me want one more! I’ld love a laundry helper. Mine just lays and watches everything with a bored expression.

  3. Beverly Stamper permalink
    April 17, 2011 11:05 am

    I hope Edmund gets to come to the family reunion!

    • April 18, 2011 4:25 pm

      LOL. I suspect Edmund would have to stay with Auntie Anne (Jeff’s sister, the dog groomer) if we traveled. 😉 Hmm. I think he looks more like Jeff. In fact, their hair color is identical in spots. 😉 Don’t they say people look like their dogs?

  4. April 18, 2011 3:06 pm

    Edmund sounds delightful! Kasha is hoping for a playdate with him someday. 🙂

  5. April 18, 2011 4:23 pm

    A doggie playdate! What fun!
    We’d love to walk the streets of Red Wing with you-all and our dogs.

Leave a Reply

