Skip to content

It’s yard sale season

July 28, 2011

Being an extrovert and a bargain hound, I love yard sales. The adrenalin and endorphin rush of a great find is a delicious part of summer.

It’s amazing how often I find exactly what I’m looking for at yard sales. Like today. I had been eying newspaper ads for outdoor lounge chairs after Hubby bought himself one with wooden arms… and I found one in my favorite color (hot pink) at my neighbor’s up the street for $2 and I don’t have to worry about the weather hurting it. I also found some size 4 new footie pajamas with frogs on them ($1)–just right for part of our great niece’s birthday bag. And a great book–anthropologist Jane Goodall’s autobiography. (Hmm. How come I knew all about her chimps but didn’t know she had a son? And a couple of husbands?)

Okay, I admit that when I look around my house, I see a few signs that I’ve been to some other sales recently. And I did just haul a load of stuff to Savers and take a clutter control pledge. But how could I pass up that box of 10 stationary cards that just had my name on them and almost had other people’s names on the envelopes? In my head, I keep writing a list of all the people who would be thrilled to get such a card. And then there’s the black Coach purse that I thought would make a nice Bible bag with a little TLC and something I found on Amazon.com called Black Jacket dye. (Hmm. To be modest, should I take the Coach tag off? Or will it be a conversation piece?)

I meet the most interesting people at yard sales and everybody has a story. I swear if I ever decide to write a novel, all I’ll have to do is throw a yard sale or go to a few and I’ll have my characters and most of my plot. Last month I met a lady who is homeschooling her deaf son and I was able to share some resources with her from my homeschooling days, which made my day. One lonely day I had the nicest long chat about child lit (one of my many passions) with a retired second grade teacher who was selling hardback books by some of my favorite children’s authors. She was pretty impressed that I knew author Jane Kurtz and have actually done some PR writing for Jane. And I was impressed with her choice of books. Okay, I confess that I bought not one, but two copies of Blackberry Stew, one for our great niece, who needs books with Black characters, and one for myself. But think of all the money I saved.

You can see why I often limit myself to one yard sale a day. But the rule is that when sales are right next to each other or across the street from each other or maybe on the same block or in the same subdivision, they just count as one big sale.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jo Ann permalink
    July 29, 2011 12:15 am

    I NEVER find anything at garage sales!!! You should write us a wonderful fiction book with tidbits about real garage sale techniques!

  2. Jo Ann permalink
    July 29, 2011 12:15 am

    Oh, and then you could go to more than one sale per day, because it would be research, right?!

  3. July 29, 2011 4:52 am

    The only thing I enjoy about garage/yard sales is people watching/talking. 😉 It always never seemed worth the effort to put one on. Maybe someday I’ll have time to poke around them.

  4. August 3, 2011 10:21 am

    I had 2 garage sales a few years back, and decided “no more.” So much work! And I resist going to them because I’m trying to “get rid of stuff.” But I think a book with a garage sale theme would be great! What a good idea–When can we expect the book?!

  5. Gwen permalink
    February 14, 2012 6:19 am

    While visiting cousins in Louisiana last year, we stopped at an estate sale. Everything was 1/2 off or better. I picked up a 4 pack of tupperware coasters marked 75 cents. When I went to pay the lady told me I had won the door prize.

Leave a Reply

