Skip to content

The perfect birthday gift for Hub

January 29, 2012
tags: ,

It is virtually impossible to buy a gift for my husband. He loves gizmos, doodads and gadgets. But I don’t know enough about that kind of thing to buy one for him. Besides, about the time I think of a Gizmo II or Gadget e5 purchase, Fed Ex rings the doorbell; Hub’s just bought one for himself and one to give away.

For Hub’s recent birthday, I really didn’t want to give him another plaid blue shirt that he’d say reminded him (fondly, of course) of a pajama top his dad wore in the 60s. So you can imagine my delight when I spotted the perfect birthday present at the dog groomer’s shop—a sign that read: BEWARE! Guard Cairn Terrier on Duty. Any person owned by a Cairn would love that sign, right?

Hub indeed loves that sign. In fact, he needs that sign in so many locations (front door, home office, work office, back door, Buick right side, Buick left side, Scamp….) that he needs more signs. Fortunately the sign is not copyrighted. As we speak, Hub is busy copying signs with one gizmo and laminating them with another. With his other hand, or maybe it’s his foot, at the same time, he’s emailing it from his Doodad to all of Edmund Dog’s relatives.

B-day cake decoration

I know of only one person tougher to shop for than my husband. That would be me. When asked what kind of present I want, I have simple requests like: “I’d love for you to mow the lawn for the rest of my life without me ever needing to do any nagging.”

Hub pulled a good one last year—for MY birthday, he gave me a membership to AARP. You read right. Yes, that basically stands for the American Association of Retired Persons. I’m still trying to figure out how he convinced them to give me a membership at my tender age. I’m guessing he has some sort of age-advancing gizmo he uses on my birth year.

P.S. Someone informed me that the term Hubby is demeaning to men, so I used my word-shortening gizmo and came up with Hub. Will Hub like it? Stay tuned.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Judy Kallestad permalink
    January 30, 2012 4:42 am

    Great story! Happy to hear your hub loved his unique birthday present this year..

  2. Jill permalink
    January 30, 2012 6:09 am

    MEN, they all are from the same mold. However, this man was born, the cutest kid around, and now very handsome in his retiring year. That doesn’t seem possible. We older peole have to hang together and love one another! Aunt Jill

  3. January 30, 2012 1:57 pm

    So glad you found the perfect solution and it was such a hit! Cute cake decorations, too.

  4. January 30, 2012 1:58 pm

    By the way, if you have a gift-finding gizmo, let me know where you found it?

    • January 31, 2012 6:19 pm

      Joyce, send me the person’s life history, interests and favorite stores… and your budget…and I’ll recommend a gift. 😉

  5. February 2, 2012 9:56 am

    Haha! I can definitely imagine the copying/laminating scene. 🙂 Great cake! What is the Edmund decoration made out of?

    • February 3, 2012 3:29 pm

      David, the Edmund decoration is a pin that I found at the secondhand store a while back. Looks just like Edmund. The actual cake topper had a snow woman as well, but she looked kind puny, so I just took a picture of the snowman and Edmund on top of a plate. I made some allergy cupcakes for someone (which were actually quite dreadful tasting… I must be losing my talent for allergy cooking)… so Jeff thought I was serving those. I hid the cake in your bedroom and we had a little surprise party.

Leave a Reply

