Skip to content

Herbs for Valentine’s Day?

February 14, 2012

My husband gave me a five-pot herb tree on February 13 for Valentine’s Day. I can plant the herbs and watch them grow. What’s your vote? Is this a terrible or wonderful Valentine’s Day present?

This is, in fact, the perfect Valentine’s Day present for ME. I love to dig in the dirt. Love herbs. Am itching to plant something right now, put it in the bay window and watch it grow. Would hate to waste money on flowers that would fade. Don’t really like rose bouquets. Would not want him buying me clothes. (The cool jacket and dress he bought for me from the Lands End inlet while were dating? Beginner’s luck,) So, yeah, herb seeds are perfect.

I just read a Wall Street Journal columnist’s article about Valentine’s Day presents. She was shocked to learn how difficult it is to please some women on Valentine’s Day. They want rocks that sparkle, elegant meals at pricey restaurants or surprise getaways. And most scary–these women wanted their honeys to read their minds about these gifts. (Puh-leeze! Grow up, ladies!)

Well, supper just now was leftover lentil soup, salad and some great gourmet crackers from Costco. Maybe we’ll do a little getaway to Costco this weekend and eat gourmet food samples for dinner.  Hubby is enjoying my Valentine’s Day present to him. It’s not a rock, it’s a Kong chew toy for his furry friend.

On a serious note, a priceless gift my husband gives me on Valentine’s Day is the understanding that it is a day with sad memories, which is why we celebrate Valentine’s Day on a different day. (My first husband’s funeral was on Valentine’s Day in 1994.)

This Valentine’s Day, I am again thankful to have had two soul mates and two  great fathers for our son. Having a mature, gentle guy in my life who honors the past and celebrates the present is more important than presents and trips, whether that be to Costco or Costa Rica.

Now, where’s my gardening hat?

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeff Evans permalink
    February 14, 2012 1:49 pm

    My kinda-farmer-wife is the perfect Valentine’s Day present for me! There is a whole story to tell about how this marriage came to be.

  2. Jo Ann permalink
    February 14, 2012 2:17 pm

    Fantastic gift! And I am with you on itching to play in the soil!!!!!

  3. marcie olseh permalink
    February 14, 2012 4:55 pm

    Hi!
    Just discovered “you” here.
    Can’t wait to read more.
    Marcie Olsen

  4. February 15, 2012 4:12 am

    You did good, Jeff. I give it two thumbs up. 😉 Craig brought me my flowers the day before Valentine’s Day, too, but for different and much less serious reasons… he’s not a fan of the day. Have fun digging in the dirt and enjoying the fruits of your labor. 🙂 Oh… and Happy Belated Valentine’s Day! Sounds like it is a bittersweet time for you. Hugs.

  5. becky stephens permalink
    February 19, 2012 1:57 pm

    love reading ur blog julie. i enjoy planting too so all those valentine presents seem silly to me, that seems like a wonderful present. i had just as soon work outside or have the time to ride my horse as to have anything else. seems as if u have a very nice husband. take care becky

Leave a Reply

