Skip to content

Egg + Flowers = Centerpiece

April 10, 2012

There’s something very satisfying about making something beautiful out of junk or stuff you already own. Last week I did a quick scan through the house and flowerbeds to find materials for a centerpiece for an Easter Sunday family dinner. My flowers aren’t quite in bloom. So I ended up buying some pansies, which can be replanted outside, to make this centerpiece from an ostrich egg I already own.  The dragonfly and gold tablecloth are both past yard sale finds.

This kind of project just feeds into the “I don’t know what I’ll do with that, but I love it and will buy it because I’ll do something with it someday” shopping philosophy. That philosophy is especially dangerous at yard sales, where a piece of gorgeous coral or a lovely antique chipped pitcher/potential vase costs 25 cents. This bring us to the question of whether great creative minds and uncluttered houses can coexist. I think so. The key is having a place to store or display the exotic finds.

P.S. The egg was not a yard sale find. Several years ago, a friend was selling them for $5 each, but I no longer have a source for the eggs. Sorry.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 14, 2012 2:52 pm

    Oh, I need to catch up with your blog posts! I LOVE centerpieces, and decorating in general. You made a lovely table! Great idea to use the pansies on the table before planting.

Leave a Reply

