Skip to content

Bathing in a cereal bowl is what?

May 17, 2012

Last weekend while camping, I bathed in a cereal bowl, washed dishes in a bucket and pottied in an outhouse.  And I thought about my grandmothers.

While my father was growing up, Granny Mc’s water– for cooking, cleaning, clothes washing, garden watering, bathing, drinking, soap-making, canning and so forth–was all hauled in buckets from the spring down the hill. When my mother was young, Grandma’s water was pumped from the cistern on the back porch. Both homes had outdoor privies.

So, let’s get this straight. Last weekend, I left a home that features three sinks (no, four sinks if you count the ugly one in the laundry room) with running hot water, two commodes, a washing machine, a tub, a shower, an ice maker and two outdoor spigots. I stayed in a space the size of a closet. And I thought I was clever to bathe in a cereal bowl.

Wonder what my grandmothers would think about all this?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2012 1:50 am

    There is something so simple and spare about a camping experience that makes it appealing but yes, it’s always good to get back to that running water. It’s hard to imagine how grandma felt when that first was installed.

  2. Bev Stamper permalink
    May 23, 2012 1:34 am

    Loved the thought of you camping out with such a talented gene pool behind you! I can remember when shampooing and rinsing my hair in a quart of warm water during convention times was considered a great luxury! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

