Skip to content

‘Earthing’ improves sleep, pain and inflammation

May 22, 2012

Do you love walking barefoot in the yard or on the beach? Do you love handling dirt in the garden or making sand castles? Well, it turns out that there are a lot of positive health effects from having direct physical contact with the vast supply of electrons on the surface of the Earth. Furthermore, we modern humans are actually suffering the health effects of not “earthing” or grounding ourselves these days, research shows.

The free way to do earthing is to go barefoot on the ground or on unpainted concrete. The other way to do earthing is to simulate going barefoot–by sitting, sleeping or working indoors connected to a conductive earthing device that’s connected to the Earth or plugged into the grounding hole on a (grounded) electrical outlet. Earthing devices include special bed sheets or computer mouse pads or foot pads. Athletes such as the Tour de France bicyclists sleep in earthing sleeping bags to heal wounds and recover from fatigue faster.

The most often mentioned benefits from earthing are improved sleep, decreased inflammation and decreased pain.  There’s solid research to back up these claims. A summary of research about earthing can be read in the book Earthing; The most important health discovery ever?, an article from  the Journal of Environmental and Public Health (2012) and this 2010 Townsend Letter newsletter.

Here’s a longer list of the health benefits of earthing:

•   improvement or elimination of the symptoms of many inflammation-related disorders
•   reduction or elimination of chronic pain
•   better sleep and faster to sleep
•   increased energy
•   lowered stress, more calmness by cooling down the nervous system and stress hormones
•   normalization of the body’s biological rhythms
•   thinner blood, improved blood pressure and flow
•   muscle tension and headache relief
•   lessened hormonal and menstrual symptoms
•   dramatically faster healing and reduction/prevention of bedsores
•   reduction/elimination of jet lag
•   protection against potentially health-disturbing environmental electromagnetic fields (EMFs)
•   accelerated recovery from intense athletic activity

I just read the book Earthing last month. And this info makes so much intuitive sense to me that I probably wouldn’t even need to see all the research. I have low thyroid (treated with traditional meds), a family history of arthritis and a risk of osteoporosis because of being a petite female. Research shows earthing helps with all three of these issues.  Therefore, before I even finished the book, I ordered the basic earthing kit for $200.  (My husband was amazed that Ms. Frugal bought something without thinking about it for six months first.) The basic kit includes a bed sheet, a pad that can be used under a computer mouse or as a foot pad, a tester to see if an outlet is grounded, the Earthing book and a copper rod for grounding to the Earth (and maybe a few things I’m forgetting).

Two weeks ago, I started using an earthing pad for a few hours a day. At home, I’ve plugged the pad into my house’s grounding. (Yes, I checked to make sure each outlet was grounded first.) When camping last weekend, Hubby ran the copper wire from my earthing pad to a copper rod into the ground.  I’m a cautious type with things like this, so I haven’t used the pad 24/7 or slept with it all night yet. In fact, I don’t have the bed sheet version with the conductive silver threads put on the bed yet.

I didn’t have any serious acute health conditions or insomnia that I was targeting by earthing, so I can’t report any immediate health results as some people do. (Many people report dramatically improved sleep right away.) But I can certainly measure the effect on my thyroid and bone density over time. And I plan to report back in a few months that I’m running marathons. I also like feeling that I’m dealing with some of the electromagnetic field pollution we’re surrounded with daily with our constant computer use, cellphone use and so forth. Oh, yeah, and just for kicks, I’ve photographed some wrinkles to see if they disappear.

I’ve always wished for a natural way to improve or maintain my health without pills or exercise. Yep, without any work on my part. Looks like I’ve found it. You can’t get much more natural than walking barefoot on Mother Earth.

See www.earthinginstitute.net for more info.


 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pedro permalink
    May 25, 2012 7:42 am

    I love walking barefoot and use the Earthing pad underneath my desk all the time. Actually, I sleep on the sheet too. Although when I can’t walk barefoot I came across these really well made leather sandals called Juil (www.juil.com) that use copper to connect you to the earth. You should check them out.

  2. July 9, 2012 9:52 am

    Thanks, Pedro.

Leave a Reply

