Skip to content

My Paddington Bear hat goes to the grocery

February 21, 2013
tags: ,

experiment2 003“Your hat reminds me of Paddington Bear,” a young man’s voice said behind me at the grocery, as I studied the tuna  cans.

Granny Mac

Granny Mac

I turned around, a little suspicious that this might be a pickup line. But the Paddington Bear admirer and I got into a nice conversation about tuna fish, and oil versus water for canning tuna, and mercury levels. I’m guessing he was just picking up tuna, not women, at the grocery.

“I like your hat,” a lady said in Aisle 5 as I studied the salad dressings.

I was amazed to get a second comment on my hat. Then again, hats are surprisingly scarce here in Snow Country. People are loathe to wear them until it’s 20 below and frostbite is imminent. And it could be that I was garnering attention because I have a real flair for wearing hats, like my granny Zadie Bell or Katharine Hepburn or Paddington Bear. (It could be I’m also psychic. I know my husband and son, who endure my hats year round, are rolling their eyes as they read this paragraph.)

paddingtonThe Aisle 5 lady and I got into a big conversation about the local high school (She was quite concerned because they don’t teach enough about George Washington), colleges, genetics and twins.

Then I patted my Paddington conversation hat and trotted off happily, humming, “There’s nothing like a bear bath.” Suddenly I was hungry for some marmalade and tea… even if it wasn’t on my shopping list.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Adele J Pitt permalink
    February 21, 2013 4:32 pm

    What a cute, sweet story! We old ladies just wear what we want and have good things come out of it! So glad to be free of what others think and wear what I want! Who knows when we might provoke a conversation!

  2. February 21, 2013 5:40 pm

    Yes, your hats make you unique and it was one of the things that made me think you might be friendly when I ran into you at the library. It seems that your hats help you strike up conversations with strangers with regularity, and I think that’s nice, since most people don’t talk to people they don’t already know. I think in my case my Italian heritage makes me fairly uninhibited in that regard. Anyway, keep wearing those hats!

  3. February 22, 2013 3:42 pm

    Cute…and so are you in your hats.

Leave a Reply

