Skip to content

I’m almost in style (Thanks, Kate)

January 29, 2014

katePretty soon I’m going to be in style. Yes, me. MY, ahem, style. Sort of the farm-girl-who-is-now-a-1930s-librarian look.

The fresh-faced, un-made-up look is in. Check. Hair subtly streaked with gray is in. Check. Messy buns are in. Check. (Having failed at ever disciplining my ADHD hair by ironing, pins or hairspray, I love it that people with naturally neat hair are trying to acquire our stylish ADHD-hair look.)

Statement brows are in. Check. In fact my browista oohs and aahs over my bushy brows and says I should mostly leave them alone. (Thank you, Kate Middleton, for bringing back real brows.) Pantyhose, which camouflage spidery veins of various hues, are back. Check. (Thanks again, Kate. While we’re at it, thanks, too, for letting your post-baby bump show. I feel better about mine now.)

Un-tan is okay. Check. Big sunglasses are in. Check… out my new Walgreens wrap-arounds that almost don’t look like old ladies’ cataract sunglasses. Round eyeglasses are coming back in. Check. (Those silly little rectangle glasses I bought and never wore? I got whiplash whenever I tried to read through their teeny bifocal sections. Plus they clashed with my brows.)

All the clothes and shoes I packed up last summer for the Goodwill are back in. Great. They’re still in my van. I’ll bring them back in the house. And layer them. All of them. All at one time. That’s in style, right? Anyhow, I looked real stylish when I layered my clothes to avoid my airline’s $20 extra-suitcase fee last week. I felt people’s admiring glances.

Now, as soon as I get my brows done and repurchase that nautical jacket I donated last week, I’m heading down to the modeling agency. Hope my browista doesn’t mess up my look.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. eve wallinga permalink
    January 29, 2014 6:51 pm

    Love it!

  2. January 30, 2014 3:14 pm

    Finally, being normal is back in style. 😉

  3. Joyce permalink
    February 21, 2014 5:05 am

    So that’s what all those looks are I’ve been getting — admiration!

Leave a Reply

