Skip to content

The art of HIDING stuff

January 16, 2020

I’ve been uncluttering for months now. I’ve sold stuff, such as the (free) lift chair my husband rescued, which sat awkwardly in our den, waiting for someone to break a hip. I’ve donated stuff, such as a photo enlarger that moved with me from state to state; it’s now being used by low-income folks at an artsy place. And I’ve trashed stuff. I think the strangest thing trashed was a clay model of my teeth that my dentist gave me when he was uncluttering; it was in my underwear drawer. What was I thinking? Obviously not much. 

Some stuff just can’t be sold, donated or tossed, such as our suitcases and my husband’s magazines and books and gizmos that must be close at hand in the den. So I’ve discovered hiding stuff.


Hmm. Maybe I’ll start a website and sell a book about how to hide stuff: THE ART OF HIDING STUFF.


I do think my laundry room and den look more restful now that things are hidden. What do you think?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2020 3:26 pm

    Can you do my house next?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Allen Mathis permalink
    January 17, 2020 7:52 am

    So 😂Julie! I still have my clay model of my teeth also🙄!! What was I thinking! Thanks for the reminder!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Jane Magary permalink
    January 17, 2020 10:30 am

    As always, you are delightful! P.S. Have I told you that I am retiring? End of March. Might have to travel the corners of the world, mooching off old friends and distant relatives!

    Jane B. Magary, CPA
    Controller
    D-Patrick, Inc.
    (812) 473-6535
    jmagary@dpat.com

  4. Louise Aamodt permalink
    January 18, 2020 6:13 am

    I think it’s okay to ‘hide’ stuff, as long as you’re sure they are items that still belong in your life and in your space. As they say in the magazines with pictures of impossibly and unrealistically perfect homes, “the eye needs a place to rest.” If that’s true, my own eyes must be exhausted.

Leave a comment